Spirit announces leadership group for 2021-2022 – CHL


Saginaw, Michigan – The Saginaw Spirit is proud to announce its leadership group for the 2021-22 season on the 20the year of Saginaw Spirit Hockey.

Camaryn Baber was appointed on the 21stst captain in the history of the team. The surager from Sault Ste. Marie, Ont. Begins his fourth season with the Spirit after being drafted by Saginaw in the third round, 57e overall, in the 2017 OHL Priority Selection. In 135 career games, Baber has scored 60 points (21 goals – 39 assists). Baber had his best OHL season in 2019-20, registering career highs in goals (9), assists (18) and points (27).

Mitchell Smith has been named assistant captain for the 2021-22 season. The Saginaw native is entering his second season with the Spirit after being invited as a free agent to Colorado Avalanche training camp this summer. In his rookie season in the OHL, Smith scored 16 points (7 goals – 9 assists) in 56 regular season games before the break.

Davis ‘T-Bone’ Codd is the other full-time assistant captain for the 2021-22 season. The Brighton, MI native and Michigan High School golf champion is entering his second season in the OHL in the 2021-22 campaign. In the 19-20 season, Codd scored 14 points (5 goals – 9 assists) in 53 games. Codd was invited by the Detroit Red Wings to attend the Traverse City NHL Prospects Tournament and their training camp. Codd was returned to Spirit in early October.

The Spirit’s third assistant captain will be split between white and dark jerseys. Buffalo Sabers prospect Josh Bloom will have the “A” on the white jersey, while Dalton Duhart will wear the “A” in the black.

For the 20e anniversary, the Spirit will be wearing another jersey later in the season. On those nights, Pacey Schlueting and Nick Wong will be the alternate captains.

Additionally, New York Islanders goaltender and prospect Tristan Lennox is in the leadership group, but does not carry a letter.

Visit saginawspirit.com for more details.


Leave A Reply